Skip to content

24/52 – Solitude

June 16, 2013

24/52 - SolitudeI used to love waking up between 5 and 6am to enjoy the quiet solitude of our home. With every member of the family tucked into bed and deep in slumber, I’d curl up on our living room couch with a hot cup of coffee and slowly wake up alongside the sun. In the early morning peace of chirping birds, I would simply read or get an early start on my work day.

Otto never used to be an early riser, but now most days she beats me downstairs. Many days she’s out of the house, en route to work, before I even roll out of bed.  Our toddler has shifted our natural bio rhythms.

My morning solitude now involves the parallel play of adults. I make a cup of coffee for each of us.  We perch on opposite ends of the couch as we tap out very different sentences on our keyboards.

This is the morning that the true Ottawa summer bowled over the city. Hot, sticky and humid. I like heat when it’s dry. I’m not really a fan of heat that makes your clothes cling to your limbs  as you wade in a giant city-wide steam bath.

Our cool house, chilled by our a/c, smacks right up against the heat of a muggy summer day.  It’s not even 6:30 am in this photo. Quietly hot.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

