Skip to content

Toddlers and Tutus

April 26, 2013

Toddler Style

I’m always on my iPhone snapping instagram photos, and I’ve managed to gather quite the collection of images documenting this burgeoning toddler style.  The Doodle has developed some very clear ideas about what she should wear.  It’s her own, unique, sense of fashion.  More often than not, it’s heinously adorable.

This morning the Doodle insisted on wearing her tutu.  She wanted a tutu like Megan, who is a worker at her daycare, but not in her room.  I checked and Megan does not own nor has she ever worn a tutu.  So we’re still in the dark about who is exactly the Doodle’s latest style icon inspiration.

I’m not entirely quite sure how we’ve become the mothers of a girly-girl tomboy.

This toddler loves her tights and skirts, but more often than not she shuns her party dresses. Diaper covers can be re-purposed as underwear either under or over the tights now that she’s diaper free.

This is a kid who also thinks that yoga pants and fleece pants are the bomb.  If it has an owl on the front of it, she has to wear it.  And, if you can roll out of bed and out the door in the same outfit, that’s a total score.

She must change her clothes 2 or 3 times a day.  A new outfit is needed if a shirt gets wet, but dirt stains or food mashed on the front, never is a factor. In fact, the dirtier a piece of clothing is, the harder it is to get her out of it.

Pajamas are now shunned.  The Doodle sleeps in her day clothes.  Track pants or leggings.

She’s shoe obsessed and very specific about which shoes or boots she must wear at any given point in time. The practicality or activity suitability is never a consideration. Neither is having the right shoe on the right foot (or left shoe on the left foot for that matter).

The Doodle is developing a sense of self and that’s a pretty cool thing to bear witness to. Even if at times it is comically cringe worthy.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2013 2:42 pm

    She’s out of diapers already? Wow! I’m impressed. In our house, it used to be my daughter changing her clothes several times a day but now it’s my 7 yr old son. i can’t keep up with his laundry!

    • May 2, 2013 8:04 am

      We kind of lucked out on the diaper front with potty training at 21 months. It seems somewhat young in hindsight, but it was totally worth it given her personality.

      I was always told that newborns produce ridiculous amounts of laundry, but that wasn’t our experience. The toddler’s outfit changes (now born of necessity because she’ll purposely get a shirt wet or drop lots of food on her pants and throw a fit if we don’t promote a clothing change) are adding 1-2 more loads of laundry each week!

  2. May 1, 2013 11:27 am

    Such an adorable post! I love her sense of fashion and I hope my kiddo will be just as independent and diverse in her choices when she gets to that point.

    • May 2, 2013 8:04 am

      He he he. I look forward to your toddler fashion sense posts in the future.

  3. Jess permalink
    July 11, 2013 11:33 am

    She is so cute! I’m always snapping pictures of my daughter too, I don’t even know what I would do if I didn’t have my Iphone. My daughter recently has wanted to wear nothing but tutus too. I keep buying them in different colors to match more but she just ends up wanting to change them every so often through-out the day!

Leave a Reply

