Skip to content

15/52 – Firsts

April 14, 2013

Hello Dorothy

I returned home from my conference today, excited to meet the newest addition to our family. Dorothy. Isn’t he awesome? It’s the very first pet of the Doodle’s choosing.

Like all good Elmo-addicted toddlers, the Doodle wanted a Dorothy of her very own. The name Dorothy was picked out even before she went to the pet store. It didn’t really matter that Dorothy was a boy fish. I love that toddlers don’t care about names to match the sex of their pets (I was going to write gender, but can a fish really have a gender). The only reason we know that Dorothy is a boy is because it said so on the plastic container. I don’t have any capability to magically determine the sex of a fish.

Here’s Doodle and Mama introducing Nana and Papa to him on skype and other assorted fishie pics.

Fish on Skype

That's my Dorothy, right?

Fishie!

Are you there Dorothy?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2013 1:18 am

    Ha, that first picture is just priceless. Love that she named him Dorothy. Too cute. We have just started Skyping with my parents. They call it “The Skype.” Ha.

    • April 19, 2013 7:03 am

      I guess your parents are also on The Facebook? (Which, despite that’s what it was initially named, still seems to be the equivalent of saying The gays.)

      • April 19, 2013 7:05 am

        I hit enter to soon, which mean I didn’t have the chance to say that I think that’s hilarious!

        I also had a longer post written, but then wordpress ate it. So no more words from me on fish today.

      • April 22, 2013 11:18 pm

        The gays! They gays are coming, the gays are coming! I was eavesdropping on my mom once while she talked to her sister on the phone (I think I was 12 or so) and heard her say she wouldn’t go to X beach because of “the gays.” I remember thinking, “People call them ‘the gays?'”

        They’re not on the facebook, thank GOD.

      • April 27, 2013 8:49 pm

        I like this comment lots!

Leave a Reply

