Skip to content

39/52 – Nurture

October 1, 2012

39/52 - Nurture

The Doodle is 18 months old and we’re STILL nursing.  And we no longer really nurse for food – we nurse for comfort.  It’s the greatest form of nurture for this kiddo.

If you had of asked me at the 10 month mark would we have nursed this long, my answer would have been a resounding no.  I was more into nursing than the baby was.  It was something that I relished and it was of utmost importance to me.  We actually got to a point where she would nurse in my arms, and I could remove the breast, and she would fall asleep.

Only I missed nursing her to sleep so after we got back from the family vacation, I started nursing her to sleep some of the time, which turned into most of the time, and then all of the time.  In hindsight, we might have had a do-over on that one.

We’re at a stage now where nursing is the go-to for a teething child.  I nearly crawled out of my skin early this summer with the grinding latch and clingyness of a teething toddler.  Nursing was the only thing that allowed us to get some sleep at night.  So I did it.  But I didn’t enjoy it.  I suffered through and was giddy with the anticipation of a 6-month or so teething break and night weaning.

Night weaning came and went and it was hard and difficult and challenging but it worked.

Then we hit a rough patch the last week the Doodle had her cast on.  We now think that her growth spurt caused her cast to become too tight and that really sucked for her.  And now we’re teething again.  The last of her 4 teeth.  The 2 year molars.  She’s only 18 months and my teething reprieve just got thrown out the window.  As did our commitment to night weaning.  There’s only so many nights of 2-5 hours of sleep full-time working moms can take.

So we continue to nurse.

And we nurse, and nurse and nurse.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2012 3:30 pm

    It feels endless, doesn’t it? I don’t know if my hour yesterday was an aberration or not yet, but it was nice. 🙂

  2. October 9, 2012 11:48 pm

    Ohhhh that’s rough… feeling for you all. May the teething spell end soon and the Camilia be in endless supply…

Leave a Reply

