Skip to content

Smart + Sexy = Smexy

September 26, 2012

There’s a lot of quick and witty banter that happens in our house.  We have teenagers and Bubaloo, in particular, is quite the character to engage in conversation with.  I try to remember as many of these chats as I can, but they happen so fast, that’s its hard to jot them down.

To set the scene, we’re driving in the car to school this morning.  The kids’ high school is around the corner from the Doodle’s day care, so they often hitch a ride in the morning.  Bubaloo is riding shot-gun and Bella is in the back with the Doodle.

Me: You need a hair cut.  You look like a shaggy dog. Have you given any thought to your next hair style?

Bubaloo: I like shaggy dog.

Me: I like shaggy dog on dogs.

Bubaloo (ruffling his hands through his hair and likely contemplating sticking his head out the window like a dog): I like shaggy dogs.

Me: What kind of hair cut would you like this weekend?

Bubaloo:  I like shaggy dog.  It’s smexy.

Me (eyebrows raised):  Smexy?

Bubaloo (makes a duck bill face and shakes his head in a sexy hair toss):  Do think I’m smexy?

Me: Do you really want to know whether or not your mother thinks you’re smexy?

Bubaloo (LONG PAUSE.  Think about the implications of his request): No.

And then we were on to the next conversation.

But I can’t help but chuckle at him and his smexy reference.  Oh my dear child.  Are you smart>  Yes, I’d say so.  Sexy?  Not with that hair 😉

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2012 1:48 pm

    Oh. My. God. Our teenagers are twins!! I found you through the pajamas mamas and I am bookmarking you immediately!

    My wife and I have a gifted 16 year old, an adopted 8 year old with Down syndrome and a known donor one year old!

    • September 28, 2012 2:52 pm

      Wow! What similarities! I’ve hopped on over to your blog and will follow along as well. Any tips on how to get your kids to stop biting. A certain toddler here is quite bite-a-licious.

Leave a Reply

