Skip to content

34/52 – Brand New

August 26, 2012

34/52 - Brand New

Look!  The Doodle is sporting a brand new cast.

We’re not very excited about it, and apparently neither is she.  Actually she’s been pretty nonchalant about the whole matter.  She’s only fussed in the photo above as she asked to nurse and I apparently wasn’t moving fast enough to meet her sudden urgent need.

For a rough and tumble kid, the story of how she broke her arm is pretty unremarkable.

I didn’t see it happen.  She was outside playing with her brother and sister as I was putting the finishing touches on dinner.  The Doodle apparently stepped on a rock, tipped over, and fell on her arm.

She cried, her brother carried her to me, and she was still crying.  It wasn’t an awful heartbreaking cry, but she wouldn’t stop.  I looked her over from top to bottom and saw no wound or flowing blood.  I carried on with getting dinner on the table as I tried to soothe her.  It wasn’t until I tried to strap her into her chair and accidentally brushed against her arm that I realized why she was upset.  She flinched.  When I  touched her arm again she pulled away and cried a few more tears.

I’m not a hospital or doctor person.  I do anything I can to avoid using the medical system. But something told me that we needed to go to the hospital, so I packed us up, and off to the hospital we went (we’re so very lucky to have a children’s hospital nearby).

By the time we got to the hospital, the Doodle had stopped crying, and I was pretty sure we were wasting our time.  She only got upset when the nurse touched her – not because it hurt, but because the nurse was a stranger.

We went to triage, we registered and we went for an x-ray.  The Doodle was running around the waiting room laughing.  I was snapping photos of our first hospital adventure on my i.Phone, posting to fac.book, and trying to contact Otto to let her know what was going on (she was out for the evening, and as it turned out, she happened to forget her phone at home).

By the time the doctor came to fetch us, I was apologizing profusely for wasting his time.  I didn’t let the poor guy – a resident I think – get a word in edgewise.  The Doodle was running around and in a great mood.  I was just wanting to go home.  We hadn’t been at the hospital all that long, maybe 2 hours, but I was ready to go home.

We walked into the room where I encountered a kid with a cast that ran from his armpit to wrist.  I was still apologizing to the doctor.  He looked at me confused.  When he finally spoke, it was to inform me, “Her arm is broken you know.”

Huh?  I turned and looked at my happy kid who had just fallen down and was standing up again only to try to crawl up on to the stretcher. The doctor was a little impressed, too.

I looked at the x-rays to see the breaks and then the doctor prepared a splint for her.  It wasn’t a bad break.  And breaking it to reset it for a cast would be way more traumatic and potentially cause more damage in the long run.  For the next 3-4 weeks, the Doodle’s arm is in a splint.

It’s not slowing her down one bit.

She ran around our room this morning playing dress up and peekaboo with our curtains.

She’s still a climbing machine.  Up and down on her bed.  And here, she’s signing milk and shouting ‘nunnas.’

I was a bit concerned that the broken arm would totally disrupt and undo our night weaning, however, we’ve been able to continue on without nursing at night.  That’s not to say that we’ve been sleeping, as sleep has been a bit more difficult because the pain meds wear off in the middle of the night and we have to re-administer them, and that’s been more challenging. She’s had one awesome night of sleep since the broken arm (I think we got a 9 hour stretch) and the rest have been pretty disrupted.

She’s not, however, been asking to comfort nurse regardless of the time of the day.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2012 8:05 pm

    Sorry to hear about her arm–that sounds tough on everyone. But what a spunky, resilient kiddo!

    • August 27, 2012 9:12 am

      I suppose it could be rougher (she’s thankfully not inconsolable). Although, I’m glad it happened at the end of summer as it sure was hard to keep her out of the water at Pride yesterday!

  2. August 26, 2012 11:53 pm

    Poor baby! I hope she heals fast. I’m amazed at how well she took it – she’s an amazing Doodle!

    • August 27, 2012 9:13 am

      Kids are pretty resilient, huh? Other than the more frequent wake ups (and then refusing to take pain meds in the middle of the night) she’s doing pretty well.

  3. August 29, 2012 12:16 am

    ugh. this story scares me.

    poor doodle bug. what a trooper!

Leave a Reply

