Skip to content

Moo Baa La La La

August 25, 2012

Before we had a baby, I had no idea who Sandra Boynton was.  We received Moo Baa La La La as a gift to welcome the Doodle into the world and it introduced me into the wonderful world of her books.

Moo Baa La La La was one of the first toys the Doodle gravitated towards, despite the fact it was a book.  At first it was tasty and it was one of her favourite things to chew.  Then she liked to pick it up off of the shelf and throw it on the floor.  Eventually she would sit and flip through the board book pages on her own.

Over the first 12 or so months of her life, the Doodle wasn’t into being read to.  With the exception of Moo Baa La La La.

She’d consistently pull it off of the shelf and curl up on my lap for a good read.  She’d sit quietly, entirely enthralled with the story.  Sometimes it would even elicit squeals.  Once the story was over the Doodle was off again in constant motion.  She wouldn’t even consider sitting for another book.

It’s a tattered, torn, chewed and well-loved book.  There’s actually a chunk that’s been eaten right through the spine.

I’ve read Moo Baa La La La so many times that I can now recite it from memory.  Which I’m inclined to do at random times.  I have been caught shouting out lines from the book during car rides, while waiting in the grocery store line or as we get the kiddo dressed in the morning.

It’s no wonder that the Doodle can now, too, help read Moo Baa La La La.

It started a few days ago when she suddenly said “neigh” at the right time in the story.  Then she added in “moo” and “baa.” Tonight for the first time she added in “la la” and “oink.”  Usually, when we get to the pigs saying “la la la” she’s already shaking her head ‘no’ and wagging her finger in opposition.

We’ve also downloaded the iPad version of the book which is equally awesome.  Sometimes she’ll try to tap the animals in the board book to make them do the actions/sounds they do in the virtual version.

We’re BIG Sandra Boynton fans in this house.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2012 4:00 pm

    It’s sooooooo cute! Way to go, Doodle.
    Like you, I hadn’t heard of Sandra Boynton before we had a kid and Moo Baa was also a gift but we’ve purchased almost every one of her children’s books in 3 years since our son was born. Like the Doodle, he memorised the words and recited them along. Moo Baa is my favorite of the books and I love that our daughter, who is now 1, also gravitated towards them, especially Moo Baa. She also loves Barnyard Dance which I dislike reading but my partner likes so I grin and bear it when that one gets picked otherwise, I pass the book and baby over to her if she’s within arm’s reach.
    That is a cute video. And, she’s adorable.
    Your descriptions of her spirit and determination remind me so much of our son’s friend Stella and it’s a spirit I’m seeing in our daughter as we get more and more glimpses into her personality. Stella is now very sick so it makes me sad and happy when I see kids that remind me of her at that age.
    Hurray for assertive girls!

    • September 8, 2012 2:49 pm

      After I read your comment and happened to be in a bookstore, I had to check out Barnyard Dance. I think I like it (duck!) I also discovered the book about the hippo belly button and I think I’m going to have to see if the Doodle likes that one.

      Funny that you mention Stella. When I first read about Stella, I felt that the Doodle and her had similar spirits. I’ve never met Stella and am so glad that your son is among her friends. It’s a small world here. I know one of Stella’s moms from way back before she was a mom.

      Stella’s mom, Mishi is an incredibly gifted writer, and despite the heartwrenching topic of her writing, she’s given me a beautiful insight into grief and death that I never thought possible.

      • September 14, 2012 10:01 pm

        lol… re Barnyard Dance. I always feel like I’m not goofy/silly enough to pull it off…lol… You should also check out Fifteen Animals which is now our daughter’s favorite by far (as of the last week). Another book we love re: assertive girls and the fun of parenting them is Please Baby Please by Spike Lee and Tonya Lewis Lee. It features a cute black toddler with a definite mind of her own. we’re both black and our kids are mixed race so we buy every good book we see that includes a non-caucasian child.
        It is indeed a teeny tiny world. We are all learning a lot from them and from this horrible experience. Our son and Stella were inseparable. They took every class together (and one would refuse to get into the pool or go into the music class until the other arrived). It’s been an impossible year watching her deteriorate, missing her spunk and personality but loving and appreciating every glimpse we get of it, watching the kids grow apart, listening to our son talk about the things they used to do together like he just thinks he’ll wake up tomorrow and he’ll have his Stella back. Aimee and Mishi are amazing.

  2. September 14, 2012 10:26 pm

    By the way, the Doodle is the most styling baby ever. I LOVE her clothes. Makes me feel sorry for our daughter who wears the hand me downs from her brother – many of them hand me downs from others to her brother. No wonder my mother won’t stop asking us when we are going to pierce her ears.

Leave a Reply

