Skip to content

9/52 – [Framed]

March 2, 2012

9/52 - [Framed]

I spent a better part of my week crawling around on my hands and knees trying to capture the Doodle’s newest expression:  the stink face.  As a result, my interpretation on the theme of this week’s challenge is pretty loose.  I wasn’t able to frame the subject in the photographic technical sense. In the photos where I successfully framed her head, I missed capturing the stink face.  In the photos where I sorta managed to snap the stink face, I missed out on the frame.

But let’s get back to the stink face.  Because I love it so.

Through the camera lens as I tried to frame the stink face I realized that it involves a complicated sequence of micro expressions.  I struggled and struggled to capture what I see, or what I conjure up in my mind, as being the stink face.  It’s actually best when you view it as a series of photographs together.

I’m not sure yet what the stink face is supposed to convey.  Is it a happy face? Mad face? Or a concentration face?  She makes it in in all sorts of different contexts.  I just love the way she wrinkles up her nose, squints her eyes, and then comes out of it laughing.

Again I had a horrible time picking a photo.  I had two favourites.  The one I picked as the photo of the week, and the other one that’s first in the series below.  I’m selecting this one as the Doodle has somewhat framed herself with a dirty dishtowel around her neck which I think really draws your eye to her expression.

Here’s the stink face in some of its various stages.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2012 10:07 am

    i love that face!

  2. March 2, 2012 12:38 pm

    I love it! What an amazing face.

  3. March 2, 2012 3:01 pm

    LOVE IT!

    bunny has a stink face too. he scrunches his face up much like doodle, but then he can’t take it anymore, and he just collapses into giggles. this happens more quickly if you make the face back at him.

    they just keep getting more and more fun, huh?

  4. March 3, 2012 6:18 pm

    These are awesome! The bottom one if my favorite. It’s great how expressive she is!

Leave a Reply

