Skip to content

One, Two, Three Life in Lists

February 27, 2012

One.  As some carrots were on the verge of expiry in the crisper, I decided to whip up a small batch of food for the Doodle. I don’t like to waste food, and the baby doesn’t really have the opportunity to eat carrots all that often since we usually eat them raw in our house.  So I figured I’d steam them and then make a puree of carrots, apple and ginger to freeze.

It takes a long time to steam carrots, or I have a short attention span, and while I frequently checked the carrots for tenderness, I totally forgot that the crucial element to effective steaming is water.  The carrots cooked and cooked and cooked.  Then there was this funny smell, and some weird popping noises coming from the stove, at which point Otto ran to the stove (my excuse isn’t negligence, but that I had the Doodle in my arms) to discover I was cooking the pot.  She took the charred pot off the stove, threw it out the front door into a snow bank, and there it sat for the next 24 hours.

We looked at the pot as we went in and out of the house over the weekend noting that it was salvageable, but not taking any efforts to salvage it.  I did bring it into the house once, which Otto responded to by pitching it out the front door again.  Today I rescued the pot from the snow bank and placed it back on the stove where it’s now waiting to be fixed.  I’m actually expecting to find it in the snow bank again when I return home.

If Otto can keep a broken plate in a tupperware for over a year with the delusion that she’s going to crazy glue it together, I’m going to keep the pot for a week or so to see if I can muster up the effort to scour it.

Two.  I lost my job last week, or I’m going to lose my job whenever its made official.  It’s a complicated situation, but essentially my work from home arrangement has changed to a be-in-the-city-where-your-job-moved-to-after-you-went-on-maternity-leave  if you want to keep your job arrangement.

We have three kids, a house, and a life in this city that we love.  We have child care here, friends here, and one of us has a job here.  Our kids have roots and friends and school here.  It’s just not an option to pack up and move five hours away in less than six weeks time.  So I’m going to be looking for a new job.

It’s a little scary and daunting to be on the job market again.  I’ve been out of the workforce for 11 months now and it feels like a lifetime.  Things move so fast now and I haven’t kept up with all the changes in my field.  I feel rusty.  But I’m a quick study. And I’d like to think that I’m pretty marketable.

The hardest part is that my sense of security is eroded.  I will have used up all my EI on my mat leave as of April 2, so I don’t have the luxury of being able to access the social safety net to catch my family.  Thank goodness we’ve put aside some money in an emergency fund to float us.  We have lots of credit after that, if it comes to that.  I hate to see our little next egg that we worked to hard squirrel away dwindle, but that’s much better than thinking about not being able to make a mortgage payment or feed our kids.  I should also get some sort of package from work which will float us a little further if need be.

Three.  I should amend point two to note that two members of our family have jobs.  Bella nailed it!  She got hired to work as a counselor at the camp she’s attended as a camper for the past four summers.  We’re so very proud of her.

It took lots of pushing on our part to get her to apply, and lots of pushing to get her to do a resume and cover letter, but she did do it all on her own.  Once she got in front of the computer, she was okay.  She had an interview right before we left for Cuba and found out last week about the offer.

We did some coaching with her on interview techniques as Bella’s non-verbal learning disability is challenging in face-to-face communication.  We walked her through what kinds of questions she might face and she did such a great job with us.  She nailed some of the questions, and we helped her out on others.

The one thing we didn’t really get into is how one should react if they’re offered a job.

Bella called the Camp Director after school and that’s when she found out she was going to work at camp.  The only reason why I knew she got the job, as I was in the other room, is that I heard her loudly exclaim “Really????” with excitement and then she started jumping up and down and screaming “Yes” and “Whoo hooo” into the phone.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 29, 2012 10:33 am

    So sorry to hear about the job. That is unfortunate and it’s sad that you have to spend the last few weeks of your leave searching for a job. I hope it all works out.

    • February 29, 2012 9:52 pm

      I’m keeping my fingers crossed (and you know, putting some elbow grease into the job search to manifest my own destiny).

  2. February 29, 2012 9:19 pm

    I did that to my pot too – except it was brussell sprouts!

    • February 29, 2012 9:51 pm

      I’m happy to report that Otto cleaned it up for me. I left the sad thing sitting out on the counter and she scoured it for me!

Leave a Reply

