Skip to content

6/52 – Chaos

February 10, 2012

6/52 - Chaos

As my maternity leave comes to an end, I feel like less of a stay-at-home-parent and more of a full-time baby wrangler.  I chase the baby and play with the baby.  I keep her out of the garbage can only to turn around and discover she’s dumped a box of cereal all over the floor.  She rips her toys off the shelf, I put them back up, only to have her rip them right off again.  She’s pulling on a cord, opening the toilet bowl lid or emptying a box of band aids all over the floor.  She’s in and out of everything and constantly exploring the world. It’s constant chaos in our house.

It’s really hard to take a picture that embodies this kind of chaos.  That is, until the baby finds the dog’s water dish. And then it was hard to only pick one picture from the series of my ten favourites.  I think you need all of the photos to fully appreciate the dip the baby took in the doggie dish.

Oh, and did I mention that we now have a bonafide hands and knees crawler in the house?

The morning we left for Cuba we were standing in the hallway discussing matters of packing and the Doodle emerged from our bedroom on all fours. I was pretty sure we were going to skip crawling as she’d figured out the commando crawl over three months ago and didn’t seem all that interested in using any other form of movement as she’s also perfected cruising.  I’m pleased to be proven wrong.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2012 8:12 am

    the most chaotic, for me, is the second to last one. the whole series is super cute.

    • February 11, 2012 5:14 pm

      I totally agree, in hindsight. I spent way too much time trying to pick one of the shots and as soon as I did I had selection remorse. Sigh.

  2. February 11, 2012 3:38 pm

    I love the dog joining in on the fun there! And hands and knees crawling looks adorable and fun. We’ve got a commando crawler and I can only imagine how happy she’ll be once she’s a bit more mobile.

    • February 11, 2012 5:12 pm

      It’s pretty amazing at how efficient the commando crawl actually is. The Doodle got so strong in her arms that she eventually could pull up onto her knees and from there up to standing. At first this is amazing. And then exhausting…cause they’re in to EVERYTHING!

  3. February 19, 2012 2:26 am

    I got out of my warm bed and opened up my laptop tonight because my stomach hurts and I have since fallen in love with your blog. It’s taken me too long to click over and catch up, I’m embarrassed to say, but I’m so glad I did. Your photography is amazing and your stories are captivating!

    • February 19, 2012 9:39 am

      I’m sorry to hear that you were up tonight with a stomach ache, but I’m so glad that you found my blog and are enjoying it. Thank you for reading. I really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

