Skip to content

Surf, Sand and Sun

February 9, 2012

Otto says I get the worst case of the winter blues and a few years back we discovered that a mid-winter adventure to a warm destination seemed to whisk the blahs away.  This year we took our kids and our passports to Cuba.  This was our first trip as a family of five and our first time traveling with a baby.  It was a fabulous break only lightly marked with the ups and downs of hormonal teenagers and tired mommies.

It was a family trip and less of a vacation this time around.  Unless sleeping, the Doodle was go-go-go and fully exploring the warm climate and all of the new sensations of ocean, sand, concrete and plants.  While Otto would say that the trip was fun, but not so relaxing, as the full-time day parent to the Doodle, sharing the baby wrangling with my wife gave me some time to decompress and gifted me a much-needed break.

Our days involved eating, playing, napping and more playing.  Our days were full of sun, sand and laughter.

Cuba’s changed so much since I was last there over 10 years ago.  We didn’t get to do much off-resort exploration, but I’d love to be able to go back to scour Havana or Santiago in the future.

I took over 1,000 photos of the trip that I’ve only managed to download in the 24 hours we’ve been home.  I’ll try to pull together a few for a photo post in the near future. This isn’t the best shot, but I still love something about it.  I wanted to share something less you think I was about to pull one of my disappearing tricks again!

And somehow I’ve got to figure out what to shoot for my project 52 this week.  I tried to access the theme in Cuba, but the internet is still painfully slow there.  In 30 minutes, I finally managed to get to the site, but the graphics wouldn’t download, and the theme was embedded in the image.  Reminds me why we still need to stick to the basics for universal accessibility in website design.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2012 12:31 pm

    I can’t wait to see pics of this. Cuba sounds amazing. It’s been on my list for a long time, but couldn’t be farther from where we live so we usually end up in Mexico. How’s flying with a 10 month old?

    • February 11, 2012 5:17 pm

      Flying with a 10 month old wasn’t bad? Surprised? I sure was. She was awake for the flight there with the exception of 1 hour. The hardest part was waiting to de-ice and take off as I had to remove her from the carrier to hold her and she was super squirmy. She didn’t want to nurse on either take off or landing and seemed pretty much unaffected by the pressure change. She slept the entire way home on a night flight and didn’t even wake up when we landed.

  2. February 9, 2012 4:08 pm

    It’s amazing how the definition of “vacation” changes when there’s a small person involved…
    Can’t wait to hear more about your adventures!

    • February 11, 2012 5:18 pm

      Ha! I knew it would, but I didn’t really “know” it until I lived it.

Leave a Reply

