Skip to content

The Steam Effect

November 21, 2011

I’m probably one of the few people who would be crazy enough to bring a camera into the shower.  I have a little point and shoot that’s perfect for opportunities like these.  I wanted to catch the droplets on Baby A’s face, only I forgot to factor in the steam effect.

Despite giving me two glorious chunks of sleep last night (well, sleep happened in three chunks as the first interruption was due to a certain teenage boy leaving the light on in the bathroom around 12:36 pm that roused me out of bed), Baby A has had a rough day.

She woke up a little cranky and I thought a nap would help her out.  It did, only by the time I got to the gym I guess its effect had worn off.  I got called out of my class halfway through to scoop her crying inconsolable little body from the arms of one of the play room workers.  She calmed quickly in the presence of her magical mommy, only she transformed into clingy baby.

By the time we got home, I was desperate for a shower.  This meant that the baby got to come and get clean with me.

There’s something enchanting about the steam effect in these photos.  It adds in a layer of intimacy as if you were to have just stumbled upon a moment between a mother and her child.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2011 4:28 pm

    gorgeous shots!

    • November 22, 2011 2:06 pm

      Thank you! I’m starting to read a bit through your blog and it’s great.

  2. November 21, 2011 11:32 pm

    Those photos are beautiful

  3. November 22, 2011 11:54 am

    Oh I love those shots – so soft and dreamy!

    • November 22, 2011 2:05 pm

      Oh my, I blush. Quite the compliment from such an awesome photographer!!!

Leave a Reply

