Skip to content

For the Dogs

November 4, 2011

When I was pregnant and imagined what my maternity leave might look like, I envisioned leisurely daily strolls around the neighbourhood with the baby and my pooch.  I still get to walk all of the time, only it’s with a different dog and at a different place that can only be accessed by car.

The dog, Mr. Mooster, is an off leash creature.  Born in a pound and raised in a pound until we adopted him from a rescue, this is a fearful dog who can’t handle being walked on city streets that are rife with cars, bikes and people.  Walking him this way is stressful for all involved.A few times a week I head out to an off-leash dog park and spend an hour or so walking around with Mr. Mooster and Baby A strapped to my chest.  We’ve been basking in the glorious and unusually warm late-fall weather this week.

For a while I started to resent the two-hour imposition that caring for our pet was taking out of my day.  It took a while to adjust and align my vision to the one that was unfolding.  I’m pretty lucky to have the time and the means to get out of the city and walk my dog at a beautiful place such as this.  I’m even luckier to get to do it wearing this gorgeous baby.

Mr. Mooster has come to love other dogs and now actively engages them in play.  He runs and runs and runs and runs.  Hopefully he runs enough so that when he comes home he will refrain from chewing stuff that’s not his.  We’ve already had to replace three area rugs and countless baby toys, bionicles and lego men.

Baby A drinks in the fresh air and quietly observes all the dogs and people while I point out birds and other nature tidbits of interest.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2011 4:04 pm

    Oh, what a beautiful baby! I’m loving reading your blog again!

    • gus&otto permalink*
      November 4, 2011 7:41 pm

      Thank you. It feels good to be back. You’re a daily writer and I don’t know how you do it!

  2. November 4, 2011 5:17 pm

    She’s gorgeous! Thanks for the update, I hope you continue to post often!

    • gus&otto permalink*
      November 4, 2011 7:43 pm

      I’m hoping that 30 days of NoBloPoMo will make writing a habit for me again.

Leave a Reply

