Skip to content

Two for One

August 8, 2010
tags:

Bubaloo has become quite enamoured with the idea of my body being a vessel for his future sibling.  He’s very much aware that I’m a conduit housing his baby brother.  Or sister. But he is so sure that we’re having a boy at 6w3d that Bubaloo has slipped into using ‘he’, ‘his’ and ‘brother’ to refer to the lima bean growing in my uterus.

While on a break from our mini golf game, Bubaloo asked if I would like a smartie.  He then handed me two: one brown and one pink.  He pressed the brown one into my hand and let me know that this one was for me.  When he pressed the pink smartie into my hand, he let me know that that one was for the baby.  Apparently I’m eating for two.  Before I ate those two smarties I did clarify as to whether or not he was sure that he wanted to give the baby a pink smartie.  When he caught on to my gender colour joke, he quickly changed tunes.  The pink smartie was for me and the brown for the baby.  He was out of blue smarties.

Bubaloo is conscious of my every movement and everything I can, and cannot, put into my body.  He knows that I can’t drink alcohol, I can’t eat lunch meat, and am not to eat eggs with yolks.  He’s been policing what my mother and mother-in-law have been trying to feed me over the past two weeks.  I never get a chance to utter a word before he pipes up, “Mom can’t eat that.”

Everything he does for me now refers to me and the baby or is a future oriented conversation about what will happen when the baby comes.  Just this morning he warned me that he was a big fan of mushy carrots and that I would have to hide the baby food if it were indeed to be eaten by the baby.  I kindly let him know that I’d be willing at any point in time to make him mushy food if it meant he’d be willing to eat his vegetables.  He declined my offer.

While all Wifey and I really want is ONE healthy baby, we’re all looking forward in anticipation to finding out the sex.  If it weren’t for Bubaloo, we wouldn’t.  But we’re either going to do a celebration from weeks 20-40 that another boy is coming into the house, or do damage control that he won’t be even more out-femaled with the arrival of another sister.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2010 12:14 pm

    That is so sweet that he is so excited! And that gold mining stuff in the previous post looks amazing… I am not sure that Timmins will be in my future but I do have a dream about taking an ontario trip and going across the province, and so if I do, we will have to check that out!

  2. August 11, 2010 1:43 pm

    I can’t wait to find out too! How exciting! I just wrote a post about that. Such a coincidence!

    • gus&otto permalink*
      August 13, 2010 7:11 am

      That’s so funny – I’ve got your post open from when I read it a day or so ago to make a comment!

Leave a Reply

