Skip to content

Day Old Cereal, Anyone?

February 26, 2010

Bubaloo is on ADHD meds which take away his appetite at lunch time.  This means he eats a very big breakfast and a very big dinner.

For a while, I tried to get him to eat reasonable portions of food in the morning.  I quickly gave that up because he often brings home a full lunchbox.  The end result is that he eats A LOT of cereal in the morning.  The cereal of his choice is raisin bran – not of the K*llog’s variety, but store brand, because we all find the name brand too sugary – and a banana.

I looked at the nutrition facts on the side of the box to discover that he eats 4-5 portions each morning!  We go through one of those massive (1.5lb?) boxes each and every week.  And, to accompany the cereal, the kids also manage to devour at least 6 bags of milk.   Did I mention that they don’t eat cereal every morning?  Only 2-3 times a week.  I think I should buy shares in a cereal company.

As Bubaloo ages, the mornings are getting more and more difficult.  He doesn’t want to get out of bed.  Then he takes forever to get dressed.  Which means he runs out of time to eat, before he has to brush his teeth and rush out of the door to catch his bus.

He’s not a waster.  On the contrary, he’s a pack rat.  He keeps everything that he considers to be of value.  From pocket lint to a rock he finds on the street.

The new thing in our house is that even when he’s running late, Bubaloo still insists on pouring himself a big bowl of cereal, which he often cannot finish.  Instead, he puts whatever he cannot eat back into the fridge.  He slips the entire bowl of wet cereal, with the spoon included, at eye level between the yogurt and condiments.

As much as I appreciate not wanting to throw out food, there’s something about cold, soggy raisin bran that just makes me gag.  Every time I open the fridge and see this mushy bowl staring at me, I want to throw up a little bit.

It takes all my will power not to toss the bowl out.  Because he loves it.

This is his new favourite thing to snack on while he does his homework at night.  He does a math problem and follows it up with a bite of soggy cereal.  He munches on it while he reads his book in a bag.  He’s happy doing his homework with food that, nutritionally speaking, makes his moms happy, and grosses me out which I also imagine is part of his attraction.

I suppose this means I no longer can help with math, due to the aforementioned gagging issue, which isn’t really all that bad.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2010 11:14 am

    Ah, ADHD meds and appetite – so tricky. Glad you have found something he likes and will eat!

  2. gus&otto permalink*
    March 1, 2010 4:07 pm

    I should be thankful it’s not Lucky Charms, right? I might eat that if it were left in the fridge…

  3. March 2, 2010 12:35 pm

    Lucky Charms! Blech…the milk would turn horrid colors. ha ha.

Leave a Reply

