Skip to content

47/52 – Mystery

November 24, 2013

47/52 - MysteryThe snow started softly falling as we took the Doodle to her very first Santa Claus parade. She was well bundled for the occasion, until she ripped off her mitts, and her little fingers started to get cold – so I gave her mine.

I, on the other hand, was woefully underdressed to stand at the side of city street and watch the fire trucks, police cars, and marching bands come rolling by.

The weekend before I wore my sandals outside. Today, I should have worn fluffy warm boots.  While it felt like hours, the parade was only 45 minutes long.  The Doodle was transfixed and didn’t want to leave despite my numerous assurances that it was okay to leave should she want to.

After a whole year of saying “Santa scary,” you know because this is what meeting Santa looked like last year, she was ready to meet that jolly old fellow again.

I hopped up and down, jogged in place, to keep from acquiring frostbite, all while the Doodle sat perched on the stroller quietly and patiently putting her hand out to indicate that she’d like a candy cane from an elf or had a twoonie to drop into a fireman’s boot.

When Santa finally arrived, she waved madly at him and she was sure he waved right back at her.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2013 9:16 am

    Your posts always show up in my reader weeks after you post! Also, I had to google “twoonie.” All this to say, I’m glad you powered through the frigid air to meet Mr. Claus!

    • December 17, 2013 3:17 pm

      It’s not you! It’s me. Since most of my blogging these days is limited to my project 52 I backdate the posts to when they were actually supposed to be completed.

      One day I’ll have time to write again.

    • December 17, 2013 3:17 pm

      Oh, and “twoonie”! Love the Canadian-isms I’m imparting.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 35 other followers

